Welcome to the 2022 ASEE Zone IV Conference

The American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) is a non-profit multidisciplinary organization that promotes excellence in instruction, research, public service, and practice to further engineering and technology education. Zone IV, the largest of ASEE’s regional groups, includes three sections: Pacific Northwest (Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, and, in Canada, Alberta, British Columbia, and Saskatchewan), Pacific Southwest (Arizona, California, Hawaii, and Nevada), and Rocky Mountain (Colorado, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming). This year’s Zone IV conference will be hosted by the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada.

Theme: The theme of this year’s conference is Impact Through Equity. ASEE has declared 2021-2022 as the society’s Year of Impact on Racial Equity. Recent events have challenged engineers to reflect on the impact of their actions on society. During the COVID-19 pandemic, teaching modes and equity have been and continue to be a concern. The conference program will focus on the theme of equity, though submissions on any topic relevant to engineering education will also be considered. Read the full Call For Papers here.

Format: The conference will be held at the University of British Columbia’s Vancouver campus, though it will be possible to participate in technical sessions, presentations and some events virtually. More information, when available, can be found here.

Important dates

  • Abstract submission opens: Monday, October 25, 2021
  • Abstract submission deadline: Friday, November 19, 2021 EXTENDED: Monday, November 29, 2021
  • Abstract notification: Friday December 10, 2021 EXTENDED: Friday, December 17, 2021
  • Draft deadline (for full paper): Friday, February 18, 2022 EXTENDED: Friday, February 25, 2022
  • Draft notification: Friday, March 11, 2022 EXTENDED: Friday, March 18, 2022
  • Final paper deadline: Friday, April 1, 2022
  • Student poster competition abstract deadline: Friday, April 1, 2022 EXTENDED: Friday, April 15, 2022
  • Author/Presenter registration deadline: Friday, April 1, 2022
  • Early bird registration deadline: Friday, April 1, 2022
  • Housing block booking deadline: Monday, April 11, 2022


May 5, 2022: As you may be aware, we have worked to be flexible in our planning approach for the conference. Our plan has been and continues to be to host a hybrid conference allowing participants to choose if they would like to participate in a virtual or in-person format.

We will continue to update this site, the sections and those registered for the conference about conference format and COVID-19 related restrictions as we get closer to the conference date.

The most recent news:

  • BC has dropped indoor mask requirements. However, UBC still requires masks in indoor university spaces except when eating/drinking or presenting (2 m from others). Please be prepared to wear a mask during the conference.
  • The BC vaccine passport for gatherings, restaurants, etc. has ended. This does not affect vaccine requirements to enter Canada.
  • Canada has announced that pre-arrival COVID-19 testing for fully-vaccinated travellers has ended.

Conference Committee

Thanks very much to our dedicated conference team from UBC Vancouver, UBC Okanagan, and the institutions and Sections of Zone IV.

Conference co-chairs:

Agnes d’Entremont, UBCV

Jonathan Verrett, UBCV

Conference committee members:

Juan Abelló, UBCV

Nima Atabaki, UBCV

Mike Borowczak, University of Wyoming

Eric Davishahl, Whatcom Community College

Brian Dick, Vancouver Island University

Adrianna Eyking, UBCV

Bob Gill, British Columbia Institute of Technology

Lily G. Gossage, California Polytechnic State University, Pomona

Negar M. Harandi, UBCV

Carol Jaeger, UBCV

Casey Keulen, UBCV

Gabrielle Lam, UBCV

Paul Lusina, UBCV

Jean-Michel Maarek, University of Southern California

Peter Ostafichuk, UBCV

Krishna Pakala, Boise State University

Sarah Parker, UBCV

Gabriel Potvin, UBCV

Vladan Prodanovic, UBCV

Brian Self, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo

Christoph Sielmann, UBCV

Jenna Usprech, UBCV

Sabine Weyand, UBCO

Mudasser Wyne, National University

Claire Yan, UBCO