We would like to recognize the award winners associated with the ASEE Zone IV 2022 Conference.

ASEE Zone IV Best Paper Awards

Pacific Northwest

Categorizing student interactions with manipulatives in statics

Dr. Kathryn Mary Rupe, Western Washington University

Prof. Eric Davishahl, Whatcom Community College

Pacific Southwest

Guiding First-year Students through the Design Process in Linked

Computer Aided Design and Technical Writing Courses

Dr. Matthew J Haslam, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University – Prescott

Rocky Mountain

Exploring the Ethical Perceptions of First Year Engineering Students: Public Welfare Beliefs, Ethical Behavior, and Professional Values

Qin Zhu, Colorado School of Mines

Dr. Andrea Gammon, Delft University of Technology

Dr. Rockwell Franklin Clancy III, Colorado School of Mines

Anna Angeli, Colorado School of Mines

Dr. Scott Streiner

Dr. Ryan Thorpe

ASEE Zone IV Student Poster Competition Awards

Graduate Students

First place

A Comparison of Pre-recorded vs. Live Problem Solving Tutorials in Engineering

Matteo Ferraresso, University of British Columbia

Second place

Atmospheric Duct Height Estimation From Multipath Delay Measurement

Jack Gallegos, California Polytechnic University, San Luis Obispo

Undergraduate Students

First place

aMAZEing Middle School STEM Outreach

Montana Williams, Emily Worthy, Babak Abedsaidi, Malachi Crump, Whatcom Community College

Second place (tie)

Student Experience in Self-Learning Mechanics Through OER Development

Julian Lapenna and Tyler Wilson, University of British Columbia


The Mechanics of Understanding: An Analysis of Student Reasoning Patterns and Conceptual Comprehension

Nathalia De Souza, California Polytechnic University, San Luis Obispo

Pacific Southwest Section Awards

Outstanding Teaching Award

Dominic Dal Bello from Hancock College

Early Career Award

Kelly Cross from University of Nevada Reno

Graduate student Award

Thomas Groechel

USC Viterbi School of Engineering

Computer Science

Undergraduate Student Awards

Charlene Suarez (UG)

Cal State Long Beach College of Engineering

Civil Engineering and Construction Engineering Management


Leena Mathur (UG)

USC Viterbi School of Engineering

Computer Science, Linguistics, Cognitive Science

Pacific Northwest Section Awards

Outstanding Teacher Award:

Dr. Alyssa Taylor, Associate Teaching Professor, University of Washington

Outstanding Campus Representative:

Dr. Wade Marcum, Professor, Oregon State University

Rocky Mountain Section Awards

Outstanding Educator

Malinda Zarske, University of Colorado – Boulder

Outstanding Campus Representative

Sylvia Mendez, University of Colorado – Colorado Springs